Rock and Roll Murders

Did his jealousy turn deadly?


Based on a true untold story. This story is set in the Inland Empire region of Southern California in the 1970s-1990s. Portions of this book were taken from actual court transcripts.

Raymond McDade started out running a small radio station from a van outside his apartment, taking his profits he bought a struggling radio station with a very powerful signal . After a name change and new Rock & Roll format, it became a regional success. Now, wealthy and lonely, it was time for a bride. Young, ambitious Alice fit this role perfectly. At the pinnacle of his success, his life dissolves into a quicksand of greed,  infidelity, lost love, and murder. He becomes obsessed with keeping his wife and successful radio station...but at what cost? 

What ensued was a circus of events consisting of murders, extortion, and chaos that led to a million dollar courtroom trial where he maintains his innocence. Will anyone believe him? Would you? 

 

Editorial Reviews

Self-Publishing Review ★★★★

"A lurid and thrilling true crime tale. The writing style is that of a slow-burning thriller, with the ends of most chapters reminding readers that something terrible and violent is brewing, and there is a threatening momentum that builds as the story moves forward. The true-crime thrill of this tangled California drama is undeniable."

D.Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review

"The story slowly evolves its delightful complexity in a manner that makes it especially recommended for readers who want their murder mystery true crime coverages as multifarious as life itself. Its delightful review of circumstances will leave readers thinking long after the uncertain resolution of the tale."

Barbara Bamberger Scott, Feathered Quill

"Chute's latest offering - smart, scary, full of grit and grift, building suspense page by page - places this author on the high shelf with Hammett, Chandler, Grafton and Parker."

Jendayi Omowale, Independent Book Review

"With a genuine artistic flair, author Phillip B. Chute takes us on a suspenseful murder-for-hire plot while sprinkling in enough side stories to keep us regularly engaged."

N. N. Light Book Heaven

""If you enjoy thrillers based on real cases, you'll love Rock and Roll Murders. If you're a fan of legal thrillers, you'll love Rock and Roll Murders. Fans of Michael Connelly and John Grisham will want to read Rock and Roll Murders.

 

Book Reviews

All the elements of a great story are in this piece of literary art. The story solicits all kinds of emotions. Either you become an audience or a participant in this drama where love, obsession, and survival interlace into one complicated phase of life.

N Lariosa, M Ed

Very intriguing...and captivating

C.K.

Rock and Roll Murders "Phillip Chute's novel was so quick paced, interesting, smooth reading, action-packed and enjoyable to read. I enjoyed it so much that I didn't put it down the entire weekend!

Mort Grabel, Attorney

Human nature is a weird and mysterious thing! This book is a page turner.

Amazon Review